A Michigan Tradition

September 30, 2009 at 12:31 pm 20 comments

outside cider mill

Last week I visited a Michigan fall landmark: the cider mill.   Molly, a native Michigander, showed me around her favorite cider mill in Northville.  At first, I was confused by all the hype.  I mean, how much fun could it be to sit around drinking cider and eating donuts?  After I visited I understood why a trip to the cider mill should be a mandatory fall event.  There’s something relaxing about sitting at a picnic table amidst pumpkins and haystacks, drinking hot apple cider.  Here is sampling of what we tried…

Hot apple cider: A staple.  Not too sweet.  Delicious.

Cider slush:  Apple cider blended with ice.  If you’re not in the mood for hot apple cider, try this as an alternative.

Caramel apple:  This was SO good!  They cut up the apple for you and add another layer of caramel and nuts.  By cutting the apple, they eliminate the most common complaint about this delicious dessert–the mess.  I love caramel apples but sometimes they are nearly impossible to eat.  I don’t know about you, but I don’t like having to fight with my food before I eat it.  This alone is worth the 20 minute drive from Ann Arbor.

Spice donut:  Outstanding.  According to the cider mill’s website, the spice donut is “vanilla cake mix blended with cinnamon, allspice, and nutmeg, cooled and rolled in cinnamon and sugar.”  This is definitely NOT your average Krispy Kreme donut (more on my aversion to Krispy Kreme later).  The donut is more like a moist cake without frosting.  And because of the spices it doesn’t even need frosting.  I bought 6 and brought them home to my roommates.  They didn’t last long.

apple at cider mill

me cider mill

molly cider mill

Entry filed under: Excursions. Tags: , .

What’s in a name? Cupcake Camp!

20 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DrTall  |  September 30, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Sounds like a lot of fun! Will they deliver?

    Reply
  • 2. Molly  |  September 30, 2009 at 9:27 pm

    that is probably the best advertising CARE could hope for…..wearing an “I love my body shirt” AND eating a donut.

    Reply
    • 3. DrTall  |  October 1, 2009 at 12:39 am

      The body needs doughnuts. Makes sense to me!

      Reply
  • 4. Sally Fellows  |  September 30, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    yum, I want one of those doughnuts 🙂
    (well, more than one actually)

    Reply
  • 5. Sally Fellows  |  October 2, 2009 at 9:31 am

    Hey, it’s cold here in Iowa this morning.
    I need some of that hot apple cider!

    Reply
  • 6. Ella Koch  |  October 2, 2009 at 11:21 am

    Going out to pick apples speaks to your inner child and the flush of memories of fall .. something not to pass on !!! Comfort of home, sweets and a treat to your senses!

    Reply
  • 7. Tiffany Collins  |  October 2, 2009 at 11:26 am

    I work with Ella Koch (Sally’s sister) and I heart dessert!!! That is what I would have named my blog about desserts!!
    I love apple cider and I think you just gave me an idea for my birthday celebration.

    Reply
    • 8. Jordan  |  October 3, 2009 at 8:56 pm

      Thanks for checking out Sugar Sleuth! Glad I could help with the birthday celebration…anything involving apple cider sounds like fun!

      Reply
  • 9. K. C.  |  October 2, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    I opened this blog wondering “what the heck”??? Donuts and cider?? And lo and behold – there’s Jordan’s adorable face smiling back at me!!! What an especially pleasant surprise…

    Sugar Sleuth – you must critique the Donut King on Grand – MUCH superior to Krispy Kreme….!!!

    Reply
  • 10. Sally Fellows  |  October 2, 2009 at 7:34 pm

    Hey Sugar Sleuth, we may be headed for a smack down, because I love Krispy Kreme. And, you know what a sweet freak I am. And, I love doughnuts!! To be continued…………………………..

    Reply
    • 11. DrTall  |  October 2, 2009 at 8:21 pm

      Yeah, you certainly never ate anybody’s birthday cake…

      Reply
      • 12. Sally Fellows  |  October 3, 2009 at 9:49 am

        LOL to Dr Tall. You will never let me live that down, will you??

  • 13. K.C.  |  October 3, 2009 at 12:06 pm

    Ms. Sally – NO WAY does KK surpass DK. Perhaps a SNACK down would be in order when Sugar Sleuth comes home…

    Reply
    • 14. Sally Fellows  |  October 3, 2009 at 12:50 pm

      Hey KC, it’s on ………………………

      Reply
  • 15. Jordan  |  October 3, 2009 at 8:59 pm

    I think what I’m hearing is a request for a “donut tasting” the next time I’m in Des Moines…sounds great!

    Reply
  • 16. Sally Fellows  |  October 4, 2009 at 11:19 am

    Yes Sugar Sleuth that is right. Now, I don’t want to be misunderstood, Krispy Kremes are not my favorite donuts. But occasionally when they are really fresh, right at the store, they can be a marvel. (like twice a year).

    Reply
  • 17. Lisa Bartlett  |  October 6, 2009 at 10:45 am

    I love the name Jordan! And I look forward to seeing you over the holidays and having some of your wonderful cupcakes!!! As will Riley and Tatum!

    Reply
    • 18. Jordan  |  October 7, 2009 at 7:53 pm

      Thanks Lisa! I’m looking forward to seeing you too. I am already brainstorming some recipes for the holidays 🙂 say hello to Riley and Tatum!

      Reply
  • 19. Gail  |  October 15, 2009 at 12:43 am

    If there’s going to be a doughnut tasting, you have to include the doughnuts from Ingerdahl’s. When Zachary and Becca were little, they got one every time we went to the grocery store. Yum! I wish I had one right now.

    Reply
  • 20. Sean's Favorite Aunt Sue  |  November 15, 2009 at 10:19 am

    Did you know there is a Run-away apple that looks just like your friend? Was this really for an episode of the Locator?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


  • 37,048 hits

