Cakes for Geeks

October 12, 2009 at 10:43 pm 9 comments

I’ve been thinking about what kind of birthday cake I want to make for my boyfriend’s 23rd birthday this weekend.

In my research, I came across this blog about cake ideas for geeks: Geekcake.  I was laughing hysterically reading about how to make an “xkcd” cake (if you’re not familiar with the hilarious webcomic xkcd you should check it out).  Another of my favorites is this, the dice cake.  As the author of Geekcake writes, a geek will always have plenty of dice on-hand for whatever opportunity presents itself.  If you are a geek or are dating a geek, you know this is true!

This blog definitely has some great ideas about different themed cakes.  Try to make one for yourself or the geek in your life.  I will keep you posted about what I decide to make this weekend!

Entry filed under: Fun. Tags: , .

Cupcake cars? Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Rachel T  |  October 13, 2009 at 8:36 am

    Ooh, send me some leftovers, please!! 😛 Love the blog, Jordan!

    Reply
  • 2. Sally  |  October 13, 2009 at 9:29 am

    As the mother of a geek, I recognize this dice all too well.
    Great cake Jordan!!

    Reply
  • 3. Whitson  |  October 13, 2009 at 10:51 am

    UHHHHHH BEST CAKE EVER.

    Reply
  • 4. Lisa Bartlett  |  October 13, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    Your boyfriend is lucky to have you!!! The cake looks great.

    Reply
  • 5. Ella Koch  |  October 13, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    yes the dice thing is very true!

    Reply
  • 6. Fong  |  October 13, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    I can’t wait to see what you come up with this weekend. You have quite a challenge but I am sure it will be delicious. Good luck!

    Reply
  • 7. arthurnw  |  October 13, 2009 at 7:40 pm

    In case you want to know what to avoid, check out Cake Wrecks 😛

    Reply
  • 8. sardouka  |  October 13, 2009 at 11:16 pm

    I love xkcd! I wonder how you could fit an internet-shaped cake into the oven? And I love the image on the header for this week.

    Reply
  • 9. Eva Hauser  |  October 15, 2009 at 11:11 am

    This is so much fun, it’s so funny that people start to do creative things with food. I love it!
    Best,
    Eva

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


  • 37,248 hits

