Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

October 13, 2009 at 9:36 pm 9 comments

cookie dough

YUM.  I’m reminiscing about the cookies as I write this.

Last week I made oatmeal chocolate chip cookies to take to Iowa City.  I doubled the recipe to have enough for the 7 hour road trip and to last the entire weekend.  The cookies were a big hit.   Despite the Michigan loss, the weekend was incredible!  I had a very fun time with great friends.  Thanks to my fabulous hostesses for showing me a great time in Iowa City and to my road-trip buddy for entertaining me on the long drive.

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from Smitten Kitten

Yield: about 3 dozen small cookies   I recommend doubling the recipe if you want a lot of large-ish cookies.

  • 1 stick unsalted butter,  room temperature
  • 3/4 cup sugar 1 cup light brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground clove
  • 1 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 12 ounces semisweet chocolate chips

1)   Preheat oven to 350°F.  Deb from Smitten Kitchen suggests lining a large cookie sheet with parchment or a Silpat (nonstick baking mat).  I didn’t have either so I skipped this step and my cookies turned out great.  I have heard great things about Silpat though, I’ll have to investigate!

2)  Using an electric mixer, beat the butter until light and fluffy.  Add both sugars, salt, and vanilla, and beat until well mixed, about three minutes.  Stir in eggs, one at a time.

3)  Sift together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and clove in a separate bowl.  Add half of the flour mixture to the butter with the mixer on low speed.  Once the flour has been incorporated, add the second half.   Do no over-mix!  Stir in the oats and chocolate chips.

4) Drop the dough onto the cookie sheet and bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until golden.  DO NOT OVERBAKE or the cookies will be hard instead of soft and chewy.  Remove from the oven and cool the cookies on a rack.  Store at room temperature in an airtight container.

oatmeal cookie dough

oatmeal choc chip cookies


Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , .

Cakes for Geeks Kettle Corn Gelato

9 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sally  |  October 14, 2009 at 7:39 am

    Oh I love oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. I might even have
    to make them.

    Reply
  • 2. lailablogs  |  October 14, 2009 at 8:00 am

    Looks really delicious ..
    Laila … http://lailablogs.com/

    Reply
  • 3. Meredith  |  October 14, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Strangely enough, I feel like Bill has (had) a Silpmat and I would make biscuits on it that were great!

    I say “had” because he has an electric stove, and I took out the biscuits and set the pan on the stove (as I do at home, where we have a gas range). Unfortunately, neither of us knew the stove was still on. The result was an almost-burned-through cookie sheet and mat. Do you know where to get new ones? He claimed to get it at Meijer but I hate that place so much.

    Still lovin’ on the blog–and Bill and I are going to the Northville Mill tomorrow. I am definitely keeping your reccomendations in mind!

    Reply
  • 4. chelevision  |  October 15, 2009 at 12:32 am

    These cookies look so delicious. I like how you posted a link to the recipe and then showed even more pictures of the cookies! These don’t seem to hard to make, might have to try to bake some soon.
    – Chelsey

    Reply
  • 5. Erin  |  October 15, 2009 at 10:33 am

    Those look so good! I’m obsessed with raisin-less chocolate chip oatmeal cookies, I’m going to try that recipe!

    Reply
  • 6. Joyce Ann Martin  |  October 22, 2009 at 2:29 pm

    Mm, I am definitely going to have to try this; everyone around me loves oatmeal cookies, but I’m not so big on raisins, so this would be perfect.

    Dan and I received a Silpat (well, a Martha Stewart brand version, but same thing) in our wedding gifts, and it is amazing — no worries about sticking whatsoever (I am a complete failure at traditional fat-and-flouring), and clean-up is a breeze. We should have registered for more of these and cut back on the dozens of wine glasses, for sure! 😀

    Reply
  • 7. SF  |  October 28, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    What is a Silpat, and whyt doesn’t it stick ??

    Reply
  • 8. Sean's Favorite Aunt Sue  |  November 15, 2009 at 10:49 am

    So if I read this right – -your Road trip “buddy” was a tub of Oatmeal Choc Chip cookies — right? Cuz, like that’s the only kind entertaining along the way that I need… you know what I’m talking about…

    Reply
  • 9. audicavoido  |  December 13, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Amazing .. very awesome topic. I will blog about it too!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


  • 37,048 hits

