Birthday Cake!

October 19, 2009 at 8:47 pm 17 comments

redstripecake2

I just got back from a great weekend in the San Francisco Bay Area, where I helped Sean celebrate his birthday and enjoyed the amazing weather.  (Remind me again why I chose to go to school in frigid Michigan?!)  As for the birthday cake, drumroll please……… the winner is RED STRIPE CAKE!  Sean’s favorite beer is Red Stripe so the cake decision seemed quite obvious.  The cake itself was yellow cake with chocolate frosting topped with fondant.

First, I allowed the cake to cool completely and then cut it into a bottle shape.  From here, I frosted it with the chocolate frosting.  Generously, I must add.  YUM.  Next is the hard part, the fondant.  Because this was my first time using fondant I decided to buy it pre-made.   I used chocolate fondant to cover the entire cake.  Rolling the fondant was difficult so I enlisted the help of Sean’s roommate, Daniel.  Either I’m really weak or rolling fondant truly is a two-person job.  I bought a “fondant roller” which I would HIGHLY recommend getting.  The fondant must be super thin to spread over the cake so you have to roll it out completely and evenly.

From here, I draped the cake with the fondant and cute the edges around the cake.  The result is a perfectly smooth surface to decorate—just what I needed to make it look like a Red Stripe bottle!  I then cut out a square of the white fondant for the label.  The “red stripes” on the cake are pieces of red fondant.  I used red and white frosting along with silver luster dust to write on the cake.  The bottle cap is white fondant covered with silver luster dust.

All in all, I was really happy with how the cake turned out.  I had never used fondant before and it wasn’t as difficult as I thought it would be.  I will definitely be experimenting more with fondant and luster dust in the future!

sean with cake

red stripe cake

redstripecake4

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , , .

Kettle Corn Gelato Woot! Cupcake Shirt

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Lisa  |  October 19, 2009 at 8:50 pm

    You didn’t mention how yummy it was!

    Reply
  • 2. Mark  |  October 19, 2009 at 9:08 pm

    Looks fabuloso, and i know red stripe as a veteran jamaica mon

    Reply
  • 3. Sally  |  October 19, 2009 at 9:09 pm

    Oh, I love this!! Thanks Sugar Sleuth for helping to make Sean’s
    birthday extra special. Here is a toast to you!

    Reply
  • 4. DrTall  |  October 19, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Reply
    • 5. Gail  |  October 19, 2009 at 10:22 pm

      What a cake! I am so impressed! Sean is one lucky guy. So interesting about the fondant. By the way, I would much rather eat this Red Stripe than drink one.

      Reply
  • 6. sardouka  |  October 19, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    What an amazing cake! You really should work at Ace of Cakes or something, because I bet this would blow them away.

    Reply
  • 7. alexis baker  |  October 19, 2009 at 10:02 pm

    so not only do sean and i have the same birthday, but i forgot that we have the same favorite beer too. this cake is wild. xoxo

    Reply
  • 8. April  |  October 19, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    AMAZING… but let’s recall last year’s epic Taco Cake… because that was pretty fantastic in it’s own right. I am trying to think of which of Sean’s favorite things next year’s cake will pay homage to…

    Reply
  • 9. SF  |  October 20, 2009 at 8:52 am

    I agree, I think we need to revisit the Taco Cake………………….

    Reply
  • 10. Fong  |  October 20, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    This cake makes me thirsty for a cold one and a large piece of cake! What a great cake Jordon! Tell Sean happy birthday from Mrs. L

    Reply
  • 11. Lindsey Haroutunian  |  October 20, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    This cake is AWESOME! I want someone to make me a cake like that, I’m jealous. Great job!

    Reply
  • 12. Jordan  |  October 21, 2009 at 12:43 am

    Thank you all for your kind words! I really appreciate it. Also, a post about last year’s Taco Cake is currently in the works!

    Reply
    • 13. Joyce Ann Martin  |  October 21, 2009 at 9:58 pm

      I am eagerly awaiting said Taco Cake post.

      Reply
  • 14. Erin  |  October 21, 2009 at 2:03 am

    That cake is so cool!

    Reply
  • 15. Jenny Montgomery  |  October 21, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    your cakes are the best.
    what will you come up with next?

    my birthday is in the spring
    back to ann arbor, a cake you must bring.

    haha, but really… i’m starting to think of my cake of choice already! ❤ ❤

    Reply
  • 16. Ella  |  October 24, 2009 at 5:51 pm

    Did Sean say he only had one beer on his birthday?
    A great cake!

    Reply
  • 17. Sean's Favorite Aunt Sue  |  November 15, 2009 at 10:05 am

    So did Sean stash this in a paper bag and smuggle it up to his dorm room?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


  • 37,048 hits

