Michigan’s best chocolate chip cookies?!

November 17, 2009 at 11:08 pm 5 comments

I love a good chocolate chip cookie.  A few months ago, I had the best chocolate chip cookie of my life, courtesy of  Colleen Ronayne, my friend Molly’s mom.  I recently talked to Molly about these cookies that have garnered critical acclaim around the state of Michigan.

Me: So what’s so special about these cookies?!

Molly: That’ s very subjective but I like my cookies really soft and chewy.  I love it when they’re still really soft in the middle.  I really don’t like crunchy cookies.   These cookies are different because the actual dough is so good that I prefer bites without too many chocolate chips.  They’re also really small and don’t spread out very much when they bake, making them even more chewy.  Also, this is strange but they are the BEST when refrigerated because they revert back to a dough-like state.

Me: Can I ask if there are any special ingredients that make these different than an ordinary chocolate chip cookie?

Molly: Yes, there is, but it’s a guarded family secret!

Me: How long has your mom been making these cookies?

Molly: She started making them when I was in middle school.  She loves to bake and is very adventurous; she’s always trying new recipes and techniques.  She found this recipe and has tweaked it over the years to what it is today.

Me: Does she make the cookies for any special occasions?

Molly: Mainly for events, especially sporting events for my family members.  They’re even rumored to win state championships ever since my high school’s hockey team won state after eating the cookies!

Me: What is the biggest publicity the cookies have received?

Molly: The cookies were featured at two separate weddings: a rehearsal dinner and then they were the party favor at my cousin’s wedding.  Everyone loved them!

Me: Does she like all the attention?

Molly: She loves it!  She loves actually making them so it’s not a burden that they’re in such high demand.

Me: Has she ever thought about selling the cookies?

Molly: No but we’re always telling her that her retirement plan should be to open up a catering service!  For Christmas she always makes 20-30 kinds of baked goods for our family.

Me: So she doesn’t only make cookies?

Molly: No, but these chocolate chip cookies are always the most popular!

Me: Are you carrying on the family tradition with these cookies?

Molly: My sister and I do know the recipe and we’ve started to make them ourselves.  It has sparked debate about the best method for making them!

Me: So when is the next time you or your mom are going to bake these cookies?!

Molly: This weekend! Maybe they’ll give the Wolverines a boost this weekend against Ohio State! 🙂

Me: Let’s hope so. Please save a few cookies for me!

Entry filed under: Sweets. Tags: , .

Another year, another Zingerman’s birthday cake! I don’t think my cupcakes need feet…

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DrTall  |  November 18, 2009 at 1:49 am

    I’m so jealous! Save a few cookies for *me* while you’re at it!!

    Reply
  • 2. Sally  |  November 18, 2009 at 9:54 am

    wow, the best chocolate chip cookie you’ve ever had,
    that’s quite a statement. I’d love to try these cookies!

    Reply
  • 3. Teplyn  |  November 21, 2009 at 8:57 am

    I can personally attest to this claim! These are THE BEST chocolate chip cookies I have ever had! No other chocolate chip cookie will ever measure up, sorry grandma…

    Reply
  • 4. akriegel  |  November 22, 2009 at 4:13 pm

    My family also has a secret recipe! They’re the best cookies in the world, and my mom says that me and my sister aren’t allowed to give it to anyone! 🙂

    Reply
  • 5. Sally  |  November 23, 2009 at 9:24 am

    Well, I have my own Grandma’s special sugar cookies and they
    are a secret too. Know only by me and Pillsbury.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


  • 37,157 hits

