Pumpkin Pie

November 30, 2009 at 11:01 pm 3 comments

My grandmother makes the most delicious pumpkin pies every Thanksgiving.  I love pumpkin pie and I’m kind of sad that I only eat it for a few days out of the year.  This is assuming there are leftovers!

I offered to help make pumpkin pies for this year’s Thanksgiving.  I figured pie-making would be extremely complicated but when I arrived to help, Granny told me how easy it was.  The “secret” family recipe was really a variation of the recipe on the back of Libby’s canned pumpkin.  Also, she had bought pie crusts because every time she tried to make crusts from scratch, they didn’t turn out very well.  I was happy to help unroll the refrigerated crusts and begin!

Granny’s Pumpkin Pie

Adapted from Libby’s Famous Pumpkin Pie

Yield: 2 pies

  • 1.5 cups sugar
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 7 tsp. pumpkin pie spice
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 can (29 oz.) 100% Pure Pumpkin
  • 2 cans (12 fl. oz. each) evaporated milk
  • 2 unbaked pie crusts, 9-inch

1)  Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Unroll the pie crusts and place them in pie dishes.  You can decorate the crust however way you like.  I chose to scrunch the crust around the edge for a ripple effect, it was very easy.

2)  Next, combine the sugar, salt, and pumpkin pie spice in a bowl.  Granny doesn’t have measuring spoons, so we estimated the amounts with a regular spoon.  Granny had to convince me that this was acceptable!

3)  From here, beat the eggs in a large bowl.  Add the pumpkin and the sugar-spice mixture and continue to beat until well-blended.

4)  Lastly, add the evaporated milk and beat until blended.  Pour the mixture into the two pie crusts.

5)  Bake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes.  Reduce heat to 350 degrees and bake for 40-50 minutes.  Test with a knife to make sure that the center is done.

6)  Serve immediately or refrigerate.  Enjoy!

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , .

Thankful for Desserts Baking, meet science

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bkhunt  |  December 1, 2009 at 12:10 am

    I hated pumpkin pie until last year. I think I must have had a bad experience as a child and refused to try it for years after. But I am definitely now a fan!

    Reply
  • 2. SF  |  December 1, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    I think even I could do this. Maybe I should bake pies next year.
    Wouldn’t everyone be surprised (shocked?) ?

    Reply
  • 3. Teplyn  |  December 3, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    So I forgot to tell you, I made a real pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving…from a real pumpkin! Although it ended up more as a pumpkin mousse because I forgot to make a crust, it was nevertheless a big hit. Thought you would appreciate this haha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


  • 37,048 hits

