Stressed is “desserts” spelled backwards!

December 10, 2009 at 8:13 pm 2 comments

Photo from Chelevision

I think everyone at the University of Michigan is stressed right now.  I find when I am stressed I am too lazy to cook and end up eating whatever I can find.  Unfortunately Big Ten Burrito is right across the street from my apartment, making healthy choices even more difficult.  I’ve found that soup is always a good choice (especially when the wind chill is below zero) and so is salad and fruit.

It’s great to have a sweet treat to keep morale high when studying, but don’t fall for the most common sugar traps: overly processed candy bars near the checkout at stores.  They may look delicious when you’re overcaffeinated and got 4 hours of sleep the night before, but they will NOT make you feel better.

For me, the act of baking is a great stress reliever.  I love to bake and doing something I enjoy automatically makes me feel better about upcoming exams.  Maybe instead of giving in to your candy bar craving you could try and make a simple dessert.  If you make something yourself, it is almost always more natural (who has a jar of trans fat in their kitchen cabinets?!) than a store bought Snickers bar.

Good luck studying (and baking) during finals season!

Entry filed under: Tips. Tags: , .

Cupcake pajamas! Diet Coke Cake

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Molly  |  December 12, 2009 at 5:41 pm

    I overheard a girl in my french class say the other day: “my roommate stress bakes i’ve had so many sweets lately”…..the night before this convo i had stress-baked brownies! They lasted less than 24 hours. I AM that roommate.

    Reply
  • 2. SF  |  December 13, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Well, I stress eat. If I stress baked my family would have been
    better fed though out the years.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


  • 37,048 hits

