European hot chocolate

February 7, 2010 at 7:32 pm 5 comments

70% cacao at Fassbender & Rausch in Berlin

Hot chocolate in Europe  is unlike anything in the United States.   It is creamy, velvety, and thick.   Chocolate in liquid form.  The thought of asking for “skim milk, no whipped cream” didn’t even cross my mind, as it would have desecrated the tasty drink.  Not to mention the request was beyond my language capabilities (except in France where I’m pretty sure they would have refused anyway).

I got into a routine where I would have a hot chocolate almost every afternoon during my trip.  And a coffee every morning of course.  I love the café culture in Europe where you can sit down and order only a coffee or hot chocolate and stay all afternoon.  “To go” orders are practically non-existent.  Taking a break from the cold and enjoying a liquid dessert was one of the highlights of my trip.

Wondering where to find these life-changing hot chocolates?  In Paris, I’d recommend Angelina or Café de Flore.  In Budapest we went to Aztek Choxolat Café, which had several different kinds of hot chocolates, including sour cherry and ginger.  I absolutely loved Café Savoy in Prague–definitely try the “double” chocolate (pictured below).  The above picture is of my hot chocolate at Fassbender & Rausch in Berlin.

“Double” deliciousness at Café Savoy in Prague

Entry filed under: Sweets. Tags: , .

Cupcake pajamas on 30 Rock! History + chocolate

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. DrTall  |  February 11, 2010 at 12:24 am

    I am so jealous! What a great routine! 🙂 I bet they were om nom nom!

    Reply
    • 2. Sally  |  February 13, 2010 at 7:44 pm

      Oh, that hot chocolate looks so good!!

      Reply
  • 3. Alexis Baker  |  February 18, 2010 at 8:01 am

    Hey, a “New York cupcake shop” just opened up across from the fish market by my house! I wish they had timed it better so it had opened when you were here! xoxo

    Reply
    • 4. Jordan  |  February 19, 2010 at 8:10 pm

      Lex that’s awesome! Let me know how it is. I heard that Magnolia (a la SATC) just opened a new store in Dubai. Cupcakes are going global!

      Reply
  • 5. mark  |  February 21, 2010 at 5:56 pm

    Anthony Bourdain ,the host of “no reservations” on the travel
    channel was in Prague and show aired last month. He had a big
    feature on the cafe savoy and had an interview there.

    Obviously , you and tony have a lot in common.Also, my presence
    seems have been eliminated from the european hot chocolate tour.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


  • 37,248 hits

